Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1947-48 fixture list
Benefit Match 
Elgin City 2 - 3 Aberdeen
    Matt Armstrong Benefit Match
Kick Off:    Armstrong 21, Mills 55.       McLaughlin, Smith 17, Smith 89.  
Attendance: 3,900
Venue: Borough Briggs, Elgin
Elgin Robbed of Draw in Last Minute
A PRESTIGE-SAVER scored by Smith in the last minute robbed Elgin of well-deserved draw at Borough Briggs last night when they met Aberdeen in a benefit match for Matt Armstrong, the City player-coach. A crowd of 3900 saw the match.

Elgin were inclined at times to play too close while Aberdeen opened up the play and kept the ball swinging. The Dons found their men more easily, but the Elgin defence, reinforced by Willie Cooper, was stubborn.
Aberdeen took the lead in seventeen minutes through Smith, who crashed home the ball via the upright.
In four minutes Elgin got the equaliser, appropriately through Matt Armstrong, who sent home a low shot off a well-placed Fearn cross.
Joe McLaughlin got Aberdeen's second just before the interval.
Willie Mills, Lossiemouth player-Coach, another former Don, put the teams on level terms ten minutes after the resumption with a real opportunist goal, the best of the match.

Clever Saves

Aberdeen's forward line moved slickly, with Kelly a resourceful leader who distributed the ball well. The McLaughlin experiment on the left wing did not come off. Cooper was an effective stopper.
Dunlop stuck closely to Armstrong throughout the game and gave him little rope. Preston was a tower of strength at wing half.
Peter Grant, the Fochabers Junior, who was making his second senior appearance, stole the limelight in the Elgin goal with his clever and courageous saves. It was times thrilling game, played in a clean, sporting atmosphere.

Source: Press & Journal, 15th April 1948

Elgin City Teamsheet:  Peter Grant, Willie Cooper (Aberdeen), MacLachlan, Ogilvie, Wyllie, John Mathers (Nairn County), Fearn, Willie Mills (Lossiemouth), Matt Armstrong, Davies, Dick.


Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Johnstone, Cowie, Massie, Waddell, Dunlop, Preston, Botha, Smith, Kelly, Glen, McLaughlin.

Unused Subs:


Referee: Peter Craigmyle, Aberdeen

Related Links: