Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1944-45 fixture list
Mitchell Cup Semi Final Second Leg 
Aberdeen 7 - 0 Falkirk
Kick Off:  3:00 PM   Dyer 3 (Pen), Munro 13, Pattillo 20, McMahon 48, Williams 58, Miller 76, Munro 49.        
Attendance: 10,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Dons Romp Into Cup Final
ABERDEEN and Hearts will contest the final of the Mitchell Cup competition. It will be on the home-and-home principle, with the first game at Pittodrie on Saturday.
Since the competition was instituted three seasons ago Aberdeen have won the trophy twice, and they will make a great effort to win it again for this will be the last season for which it will be competed.

The Dons had a great 7-0 win over Falkirk before 10,000. They qualified for the final with an aggregate of 8-2.
Chief interest for the home crowd centred in the appearance McMahon, the young army player signed before the start of the present campaign. He showed football ability and headed a fine goal. All he needs is speeding up.
The Dons played good football throughout. They were a vastly superior team to that which lost the first game at Falkirk. The defence was confident, with McKenna the best back afield.
The Dons were very strong at halfback. D. Johnston dominated the centre of the field. Taylor, until hurt, was the best wing half on view, with Cruickshank little behind.
The forwards gave a spirited display, cunningly led by Williams. Both wingers, Miller and Munro, were on their game, and Pattillo was strong at inside right.
Falkirk were overpowered after the first quarter of an hour.

Few people expected Hearts to beat Rangers at Ibrox by two clear goals, but the young Hearts' team deserved their success against a side that included Dawson, Woodburn, Duncanson, Smith, Venters and Johnstone.

Source: Press & Journal, 18th June 1945

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Johnstone, McKenna, Dyer, Taylor, Johnstone, Cruickshank, Miller, Pattillo, Williams, McMahon, Munro.

Unused Subs:


Falkirk Teamsheet:  Nimmo; Dick, Stewart; Gallacher, Smith, Mather; Thomson, McKee, Wilson, Colville, Morrison


Referee: R. Calder, Rutherglen

Related Links: