Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1945-46 fixture list
Dewar Shield Final First Leg 
Aberdeen 2 - 0 Falkirk
Kick Off:  3:00 PM   Wallbanks 81, Williams 86.        
Attendance: 10,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Dons Two Ahead in Dewar Shield
CLAIMING more than three-quarters of the play and dictating things pretty much as they pleased, Aberdeen left their goalgetting late in the first of their home-and-home ties with Falkirk at Pittodrie in the final of the Dewar Shield.

Persisting in close-pattern work the Dons' attack failed miserably when it came to finishing.
In what was probably the most featureless match at Pittodrie this season the two goals which Aberdeen ultimately got were the only bright spots.
Some of the crowd had left the ground before Wallbanks opened the scoring nine minutes from the end after a clever passing bout. Williams got the second, following a finely-placed free kick by Pattillo, five minutes later.
As an offensive force Falkirk simply did not exist and it was probably the easiest afternoon the Aberdeen defenders put in for long time.
Waddell at right-half caugnt the eye. Relieved the necessity of much in the way of defence he kept the Falkirk rear lines on edge with his raking forward passes and his tries at goal set an example which the forwards would have done well to copy.
The faint sparkle we got from the Aberdeen attack - neat enough in the out-field but deplorably ineffective in front of goal - came mainly from the right wing where the diminutive Williams seemed delight in operating with Wallbanks and Pattillo after the centre had come off second best in his early tussles with the lanky Henderson. The Falkirk pivot was the outstanding man on the field - his positional work and coverlng-up were magnificent.

Source: Press & Journal, 15th April 1946

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Johnstone, Cooper, McKenna, Waddell, Dunlop, Taylor, Wallbanks, Pattillo, Williams, Hume, McCall.

Unused Subs:


Falkirk Teamsheet:  Bob Carrie, Jock Whyte, Jimmy McPhie, Harry Rice, Bob Henderson, Jimmy Gallacher, Duncan Ogilvie, Tommy Brady, George Brookes, Jimmy Alison, John Fitzsimmons.


Referee: J. M. Martin, Ladybank

Related Links: