Saving layout

One Moment...

Resetting layout

One Moment...

Customise your homepage

Drag each panel to set your preferred order. Click the eye icon to toggle the visibility of the panel. You can reset the layout by clicking the 'Default' button above.
On This Day
Social History
Match Centre / League Table
Players / Managers / HOF
The Aberdeen Collection
Squad (Hidden)
Profile / Dark Blue Dons / Wartime Dons
Results / Pittodrie Stadium
RedTV / Milestones

Aberdeen 4 - 1 St. Johnstone

HT Score: Aberdeen 2 - 0 St. Johnstone

Dewar Shield Final
Aberdeen scorers: Adam, Beattie (Pen), Moore 20, Moore 90.
St. Johnstone scorers: McBain.

31/08/1932 | KO: 19:00


Aberdeen, by defeating St Johnstone by four goals to one in the final of the Dewar Shield competition at Pittodrie Park, Aberdeen, last night, won the trophy for the third year in succession. Neither team was too impressive, but the home attack was the more penetrative. St Johnstone made a promising start, and a header by McBain struck the post with Smith beaten. The fell away however, and Aberdeen gradually took up the attack.
Moore gave Aberdeen the lead when he cleverly turned a pass from Beattie into the net, and before the interval Adam increased the lead with a drive from 25 yards. Shortly after the restart McLaren did well to turn a low shot by McLean round the post for a fruitless corner and then pull down a point blank drive from Moore. The visitors threw off the pressure for a time towards the close, and McBain reduced the leeway, but before the finish Aberdeen got two more goals.
McLaren, the St Johnstone goalkeeper, gave a splendid display and saved his side from a heavier defeat. Ireland was outstanding in the visitors' half-back line. Forward Nicol and McDonnell were clever, but the wingers were weak. Aberdeen were sound in defence, and O'Reilly made a promising first appearance at right half. Falloon played too much as a third back. In a forward line which had plenty of punch, Moore and Beattie were best.

Source: Glasgow Herald, 1st September 1932

Dewar Shield Won for Third Time.


By defeating St Johnstone at Pittodrie last night Aberdeen obtained possession of the Dewar Shield for the third year in succession. This was St Johnstone's first defeat of the season.

Losing the toss, Aberdeen kicked off against a strong sun. A period of Aberdeen pressure marked the opening stages, but St Johnstone broke away on the right and McBain hit the upright with Smith well beaten.
Aberdeen then took the offensive. O'Reilly had a shot at goal, and Moore deflected the ball, but McLaren pounced on it and sent it over the bar for a fruitless corner.

Dons Score.

About twenty minutes from the start Aberdeen opened the scoring. Beattie passed to Moore, who hooked the ball over his shoulder into the net. A smartly-taken goal.
After a period of midfield exchanges, the visiting forwards broke away, and Smith did well to save a hot one from McDonnell.
Adam put the Dons further ahead. Accepting a pass from Falloon, he sent in a shot which beat McLaren all the way. Nettled by this reverse, the visitors pressed for a spell, but their forwards did not impress, although they were getting all the support they needed from their halves.
A clever movement by the Aberdeen halfbacks ended in Beattie giving McLaren a fright, but the ball went narrowly past.

Second Half.

St Johnstone opened the second half in promising style and were unlucky not to reduce the leeway.
The homesters, however, returned to the attack after a period of end-to-end play. In a melee in the penalty area Clark handled. Beattie made mistake with the spot kick.
St Johnstone were soon at the other end, and McBain beat Smith to send the ball into the corner of the net.
In the last fifteen minutes play became very fast, but Aberdeen were more than holding their own. Moore was showing up well at centre-forward. Just on time he scored Aberdeen's fourth goal from free kick.

At the conclusion of the game Baillie Stewart, president of the Dewar Shield Committee, called upon Mrs J. Robertson, wife of the Aberdeen F.C. chairman, to hand over the shield to Mr Robertson and watches to the Aberdeen players.
R. Campbell, president of the Scottish Football Association, called for votes of thanks to Baillie Stewart and Mrs Robertson.

Source: Press & Journal, 1st September 1932

Aberdeen Teamsheet
Smith, Daly, McGill, O'Reilly, Falloon, Mooney, Love, Beattie, Moore, Adam, McLean.
St. Johnstone Teamsheet
McLaren, Pryde, Clark, Mason, Ireland, Priestley, Ritchie, Nicol, McBain, McDonnel, Nicholson.
Attendance: 7,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Referee: W.Bell, Motherwell
Next Match
Heart of Midlothian
09 Dec 2023 / 15:00 / Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen