During the 100-year history of Aberdeen Football Club there have been many trophies, mementos and unique items of memorabilia inherited along the way. Unfortunately, the club don't have enough space to display this fascinating collection at the moment and so many fans are unaware of their existence. Each of the items has a story to tell and some are well known while others are a bit more obscure. All, of course, contribute to the rich history of Aberdeen Football Club.
Over time we hope to populate 'The Aberdeen Collection' section with a large selection of items. We have showcased a number of exhibits her to give you an idea of the treasure trove lurking in Pittodrie. We hope readers will find this fascinating and possibly get a further insight into the history of the club. In fact, one of the items on show here - the Changi Internment Camp Trophy - is a bit of a mystery to everyone at the club and if anyone can shed some light into its background we want to hear from you.
The Gershon Cup was played for during the 1890's between the three clubs that went on to form the current Aberdeen FC. Victoria United, Aberdeen, and Orion were by far the biggest and most professional local clubs and when The Glasgow Clothing Company came to the city their representative, Mr. A. J. Gershon, decided to promote the company by donating a Cup with the winners allowed to keep the prize permanently.
Over four season he donated three trophies and the one pictured here was won by Victoria United when they beat Aberdeen 4-1 on the 21st of March in 1896. Orion were the winners on the other three occasions.
The trophy we have pictured sits in the boardroom where it arrived in 1978 courtesy of Mr Jack Reid, a former captain of the Aberdeen University football team, and Charlie Davidson, a descendant of Jim Ririe. Jim was the captain of Victoria United, and when the club was wound up prior to the amalgamation in 1903 with Orion and Aberdeen, senior players were given club assets. Jim was handed the 1895-96 Gershon Trophy and it was kept in his family till its arrival at Pittodrie in about 1978, where it is now proudly on show in the Club's boardroom.