Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1950-51 fixture list
Dewar Shield Final Second Leg 
Aberdeen 3 - 0 East Stirlingshire
Kick Off:  6:45 PM   Pearson 17, Yorston 50, Emery 56 (Pen).        
Attendance: 6,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Aberdeen win the 1949-50 Dewar Shield 6-1 on aggregate
Dons Score Easy Dewar Shield Win

IN winning the Dewar Shield at Pittodrie last night the Dons did not cover themselves with glory. They started with a 3-1 lead from last season and were never really in danger.

Had the Aberdeen forwards been more virile in their finishing they could easily have doubled the score. Some of their outfield play was neat and entertaining, but the finishing left a lot to be desired.
Although East Stirling were outclassed they must be given credit for the fact that they fought till the end. They, too, could benefit from lessons in the art of shooting.
McEwan in goal put up a good show for the Bainsford team and he had one truly magnificent flying save from Yorston in the second half. They had a tenacious centre hall in Quin, and Cameron, at right half, did a lot of useful work.
There were few stars among the Dons. Emery and McKenzie were sturdy defenders. McKenna, who was playing his first game of the season, did not appear to be thoroughly tuned up.

Tricky McMillan

The Dons led by a single goal at the interval. It arrived in seventeen minutes. Pearson had a go from a Stenhouse cross and the ball seemed to go in off the post.
Five minutes after the start of the second half Yorston stumbled in taking a pass from Pearson, but made a quick recovery to send into the net.
Emery completed the scoring from the penalty spot six minutes later, when Pearson was brought down bv Hamilton.

At the finish of the game Mr A M. McLuckie. chairman of East Stirling, presented the Shield to Mr William Mitchell, chairman of Aberdeen F.C. Mrs Mitchell handed over the prizes to the players of both teams.

Source: Press & Journal, 24th August 1950

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Martin, Emery, McKenna, Bruce, McKenzie, Glen, Stenhouse, Yorston, Rodger, Pearson, McMillan.

Unused Subs:


East Stirlingshire Teamsheet:  Alexander McEwan, Matt Hamilton, Jimmy Hunt, Jimmy Cameron, Willie Quinn, Jimmy Middleton, Willie Japp, Alex Gourlay, John Riley, Ronnie Craig, Jim Stirling.


Referee: D.McKercher, Stanley

Related Links: